OpenCSA Member Section Steering Committee Election Now Open

The Open CSA Member Section Steering Committee Election is now open; voting closes at 5:00 PM EDT on 20-May-2008.

This year, the Member Section will elect three Steering Committee members to serve two-year terms and one member to serve one year (completing the term of a retiring Steering Committee member). The three candidates receiving the highest ranked votes will each serve two-year terms.

Each Open CSA Supporting Entity has one Qualified Elector who casts the single vote on behalf of his/her organization. Unless otherwise designated, the organization's Primary Rep serves as the Qualified Elector, see current roster, The Primary Rep may defer the voting member role to another employee member by sending an email to; any such change should be in place before the ballot is cast.

To insure that all Members and Observers in this Member Section understand the election process, the voting instructions are as follows:

Cast your vote by email to, your message should be your ranked preference for the candidates. Start with 1, continuing until you have no further preference for the remaining candidates.

1 First Candidate name
2 Second Choice Candidate name
3 Third Choice Candidate name

Your candidates are alphanumerically listed:

David Burke
Mike Kaiser
Mark Little

The candidate profiles may be found at:, located in the ‘2008 Steering Committee Nominees’ folder.

The voting will be by email, with the results tallied via the Single Transferable Voting (STV) - Scottish Method.
See and
STV considers your ranked preference for candidates in order to more accurately reflect the wishes of the electorate.